Wonderful Day

Today I finished recording a song written less than two weeks ago. It’s all very well to be doing this when you’re some hot shot musician with a massive following, but I’m not. So, what’s the point?

Firstly, I need to write. I enjoy the process of writing something, and seeing it worked out in detail. I used to write a lot of instrumental music at the piano, but recently it has made more sense to be writing songs.

Secondly, I’m doing the whole three rules thing from the last paragraph of my post a couple of days ago. The song is relevant to my experience as a Christian and as such is an expression of part of my faith and how that operates. The themes are simple and easy to understand. It’s simple to sing along with (a bit high in parts, but it’s not supposed to be for church congregations to sing) and it is (in my not-so-humble opinion) good. That is, I like it.

Besides the simplicity and relevance, what else am I aiming for?

The song has some interesting chord sequences. It’s in a slow but driven tempo with a positive on-beat rhythm supplied by the piano. It is simple in structure, relying on that old staple verse-chorus-verse-chorus-bridge-chorus routine that has made superstars of many a boy band

Leave a Reply

