I’m in a Blues Band.

It’s odd, and yet unremarkable. I enjoy making music, and I like being with other musicians, and I like making money.

So, joining a band with gigs on their books and a good reputation makes perfect sense. I have, after all, sat in with them for a few weeks now.

But the thing is I don’t have a lot of time. I’m busy being a husband and a father and everything else. I have a good job, and a free hand to more or less do as I please in terms of recording at home and writing music.

Regardless, I’ve joined the Grey Goose Blues Band. They’re a crew of very different, very talented musicians. There’s a leader and guitarist called Frankie, a drummer who has an excellent reputation and a keen ear, jazz-driven bass player, and I’m playing keys. Over this we have real saxophone (baritone, no less) who doubles on alto and flute; and a harmonica player. It’s odd to hear a harmonica (through effects) and a sax playing brass stabs in harmony but after a while you get used to it.

We have gigs coming up. Some or more of them will appear in my Diary and you’ll be able to see us make sweet music together. It’s both a departure and a risk playing with musicians who aren’t already friends, but I’m enjoying it so far and I’m grateful for the opportunity to make real music again after too long stuck behind a church piano. This last comment may sound harsh, but it’s not currently the fashion to show off in church when you play. We have a very dour approach sometimes. It’s great to be part of a band where I can really give it the beans and be applauded for a job well done.

Oh, and did I mention, we make money at these gigs? Not enough to make it a career, but enough to pay the bar tab I hope.

I’m really looking forward to seeing how this plays out. Come to a gig and hear us. You’re more than welcome to do so.

2 Responses to I’m in a Blues Band.

  1. Jimm Rennie says:

    Cool, let me know when you’re playing within walking/public transport distance so I can come and see you guys.

  2. We’re at the Railway tonight, in Pelsall, and at the Robin in Bliston Feb 29th. After that, we have some more in the diary, including a March date at the White Lion.

Leave a Reply

