Verbal contracts – they aren’t worth the paper…

I played my first ever Blues gig as a solo artist on October 14th, 2012. It was an utter disaster.

In their defence, the promotions company probably didn’t realise I wasn’t a regular pop covers artist, and I’m not blaming them for that.

However, they haven’t been in touch since.

I got told by the Entertainments Sectretary at Mackadown Lane Sports and Social Club that night to get off stage and that my agent would be in touch. They haven’t been in touch. They haven’t paid me either.

I got this gig by responding to a Job Centre advert. I suppose in my naivety I should have known better when they suddenly started ignoring me the first time.

As it stands, I have received no communication of any kind from them. They did not audition me (despite having a member of staff specifically employed to do this, according to their website), ask for a recording of me singing, check my credentials or find out anything about me. I had two hurried conversations with Robert Burrell on the rare occasions he answered the phone at all, and he booked me on a hundred pound fee to play on the Sunday night.

I’m not sure how other artists feel but a hundred pounds for two 45 minute sets is a bit slim. To turn up and discover the [deserted] venue expects two hour long sets is frankly a slap in the face.

To be turfed off after four songs because the music isn’t what the Ents Sec wants is bad enough, but to receive no fee, no feedback, not even a harsh phone call complaining that I’d let them down? From an agency this is unforgivable, surely?

I understand their confusion. When I say I’m a Blues act they ask if I play covers. Of course I play covers, but T-Bone Walker and Big Bill Broonzy might not be the sort of cover you’re expecting. You’re the agency, you are supposed to do the work and match artists to venues. You sure as hell don’t know me, and you don’t apparently know them that well.

I’m forced to conclude that I won’t see my fee, and I’m unlikely ever to work again for this outfit. Unsurprisingly, that doesn’t bother me. I can speak my mind online, and they are in breach of whatever slim verbal (text message) contract I may ever have had. I know I won’t get my money out of the Social Club instead. I can, however, be plain in my opinion and review of this company.

They are RDGB Entertainment Solutions from Birmingham in the UK,¬† and I would advise every venue and artist who reads this page to give them a wide berth. They don’t seem to care much about us (venue or artist), and I suspect they won’t care that much about you either. Can’t say fairer, eh?

One Response to Verbal contracts – they aren’t worth the paper…

  1. James berry says:

    I own a chain of venues across the West Midlands and have used RDGB Entertainment for all my entertainment needs for the last 3 years,all I can say is I’m very happy, with them, they supply quality performers every week and care very much about our feedback and requirements. Thanks Robet, you and your team keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

