Tooled up

I have too many tools. Not different tools, you understand, but too many of the same kind.

I have at least three blade screwdrivers of similar sizes and frankly I only need one. The same goes for pairs of pliers. I have drill bits I don’t use because I have another set that’s always to hand when I need it.

I reckon I’d be able to fill a decent size box with stuff I have but don’t need because I have redunancy across toolboxes, and honestly there are tools I’ll never use except in the event the one in the house breaks and one in my toolbox is missing. That assumes I’ll remember I have a third.

I’m not one for pet charitable endeavours, but I want to highlight these guys. Tools with a Mission accumulate unwanted or surplus tools and send them abroad. Yes, it’s a Christian organisation. We as a faith group have a history of charitable works (sometimes despite ourselves, sometimes regardless of the consequences) and I like to have a look first to see what they’re actually doing and where my money goes…


In this case though, the money is already spent. I have already acquired the tools. These guys are going to reuse them in communities and families where decent tools are difficult to come by and where they can be of genuine practical economic siginificance in the lives of their users.

Do me a favour as a reader of the blog, and please have a think about raiding your shed or garage and supporting these guys. If not, there are tool banks up and down the UK, and other charities who can use your surplus. Whatever the case, just do good rather than ever doing nothing, eh? Cheers.

Leave a Reply

