Tow Woe

Earlier this year I had to bid farewell to the lovely Peugeot 306 to which I had so successfully attached a towbar, and replaced it with a gifted Peugeot 806, which came without.

It was only a matter of time before I needed to fix up the new motor with a towbar of its own, and over the last couple of weeks I’ve been struggling with the very decent PF Jones kit I bought online to attach it to the frame of the car and make good.

Finally today I acquired the last tool I needed for the job. The towball itself is held in place with a pair of 24mm headed bolts. Given my socket set doesn’t offer anything bigger than 13mm, and my wheel brace goes barely past 20mm, I had to purchase a bit of technical kit.

Laying out the bits and pieces...

Laying out the bits and pieces…

The ever excellent Karparts sorted me out with a reasonably priced spanner for my 24mm nuts, which greatly amused the boys. You can see my mole grips in the picture above, so I now had the means to tighten the nuts.

Before

Before

After

After

You can clearly see the electrics aren’t hooked up at this stage. I was hoping that would be relatively simple but no… looking in the cavity behind the rear wheel arch revealed nothing obvious and to add insult several of the wires are identically numbered. I’m told this is French engineering sticking the proverbial fingers up at idiot amateurs. So be it. I have a multimeter and almost infinite patience. I will overcome.

Abandon hope, all ye who enter.

Abandon hope, all ye who enter.

It’s not helped that the 806/Synergie/Ulysse eurovans seem not to have warranted even a cursory Haynes manual and although well designed mine is old enough to get it’s own driving licence.

A quick trip to Maplins for some connectors and I think it’ll be easy enough, just as soon as I have a moment.

4 Responses to Tow Woe

  1. stymaster says:

    Be wary with the electrics. Some 806s at least have CANBUS electrics., so you may need CAN-aware wiring and it may need coding to the car.

    • Good call. Thanks for the heads up. I had a look around and can’t see any evidence of the CANBUS system on board. Wired it up and everything seems to hold together. Mine is an earlier model, and seems to have been a “Mark I”.

      With any luck I’ll be fine! 🙂

  2. Peter says:

    Andy, if there’s any tool you need for a mechanic at home situation just ask, my eldest lad has more tools than Halfords in MY garage.
    Just ask mate.
    Peter

  3. stymaster says:

    Come to that, I’ve got a fair amount of car tools, you know where to ask.

Leave a Reply

