The End. Well, an end of something.

I sold my keyboard.

My lovely Roland XP-10.

I’ve had that since I was a teenager. It was my first synth.

It’s gone to Blackpool in the back of a van, picked up this afternoon by a man whose son used Kaoss Pads and so forth to make music of his own. Apparently, he’s only after it for the drum sounds. Allegedly the XP-10 is great because it has TR-808 and TR-909 sounds on board. Its FM synthesis (I think) and slightly ropey arpeggiator are being overshadowed by facsimiles of sounds from a piece of equipment so old and rare examples sell on ebay for THOUSANDS of pounds.

He gave me eighty quid for it.

Such is life. The money is going to be put into a new stage piano that I can use for live gigging. I need to raise a little more, and then I shall have a new shiny piece of keyboard equipment to play with.

But I already miss the XP-10. That was half my lifetime. They were damned fine days.

2 Responses to The End. Well, an end of something.

  1. HK Johansson says:

    There’s something bittersweet about letting go of old equipment like that. Like seeing an old friend off 🙂

Leave a Reply

