I won a prize!

I still contend I’m not really a runner, but it’s nice to be accused of being a runner in certain circumstances. I have been awarded Walsall Arboretum Parkrun‘s Runner of the Month!

Runner of the Month

It’s not a decision they must take lightly, picking out a worthy nominee from the two hundred or so weekly runners. I’m very flattered to discover in a world where running against our prvious best makes us all equal, this month I can feel a bit more equal than others. It’s not as though I can inspire people with my athletic physique or astonishing technical ability, but it is remarkably nice of the people who manage our local Parkrun to honour me like this and affirm that I’m getting somewhere, even if I have had to start from the back.

The prize is a new pair of running shoes, from our sponsor Sweatshop. Straightaway this morning (after a shower and a change of gear, obviously) I headed over there, and have “purchased” a free pair of “Technical Running Shoes” that should have cost more than every other pair of shoes I own added together.

While I’m thinking about it, there’s still plenty of time to sponsor my City of Birmingham 10K run in September, where I’m raising money for Cancer Research. More here.

Photo taken from Rocket Ron’s Flickr Stream with many thanks.

2 Responses to I won a prize!

  1. Pete says:

    Excellent. Well done mate.

  2. Peter says:

    Well done Andy, an inspiration to us all.

Leave a Reply

