Running for a Record

Today I completed my 50th parkrun. Five kilometres were duly covered and I had a lot of fun. Not least because apart from hitting this (hundred-and-fifty-) milestone, I ran it faster than ever before.

After last weekend’s slightly disappointing 10K time, I stormed home in 31:46, a solid 20% improvement on my first parkrun and a time of which I’m justifiably proud. I know I say I’m not a runner, but it’s looking more and more like I am really.

50 Club

To celebrate I have purchased a few bottled ales from Morrisons. Since I’m in a month of sobriety to help with my running I feel this is the most appropriate way of marking my success. Next weekend it’s the Walsall 10K. I’ll be back to being sober by then.

PS: And thanks to my friend on Facebook who misunderstood the comments on my celebratory post and assumed I was celebrating my 50th Birthday today. You cheered me up no end and more than one mutual acquaintance is now trying to wipe coffee off their screen.

One Response to Running for a Record

  1. Peter says:

    Congratulations! sub 30? next.

Leave a Reply

